Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2012 1:23 PM by Moderator Cath

Small Business Owners !

Moderator Ilona Ranger

Did you ever think about becoming a Business Owner?

It is a part of the American Dream but not everyone thinks that they are made for owning a business,then again you might be mistaken.

Here is an other fantastic article by 'Steve Strauss' discussing the DNA of a Small Business Owner.

You can read it right here: What is the DNA of a Small Business Owner?

Ilona

• Re: Small Business Owners !
          mescalante77 Newbie

I not a biz owner yet, but when I think about leaving my job to create a firm, I get very excited. I have a plan to have enough savings to survive for a couple of years while I start my business. Next year is the year! Thanks for posting this article.

GMFS Adventurer

I'm a business owner. It's the best decision I ever made. Working the routine 9 to 5 just wasn't for me.

Uncle Leon Tracker

Owning a biz is NOT for everyone.  If a person isn't sure that he should be a business owner, it's best that he not do so.  If one is not prepared to work a very long schedule, at first, it's best not to begin a business.

Like many small service business owners, I didn't start out to "own a business".  I loved photography as a hobby, and it almost "accidently" progressed into a business. 

In later years, when giving a convention program, I jokingly compared becoming a "Professional Photographer" to becoming a "Prostitute". 

First you do it because you enjoy it.  - Then you do it for a few friends.  - Then, as word gets around, people begin paying you to do it.  Then, almost before you know it; you're a full time professional.

In later years, I've always attempted to teach prospective service business owners, that doing what you do (electrician, plumber, AC repairman, etc.) is not the same as operating a BUSINESS of providing this service.  Different skills are required.