Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2012 1:26 PM by Moderator Cath

Starting a computer service Business. Need Tips

hanehane Newbie

Hi i am currently a high school student working on my busienss plan for my project but i like to turn this project into reality but i need some help from experienced people in this kind of business.I am thinking of starting a computer service/Assembling custom computers. I have some questions on finding out my cost of materials and labor. Who should be my suppliers. Should i buy directly from manufacturers? Thank you and really appreciate for your help.

• Re: Starting a computer service Business. Need Tips
          bizconsultant Scout

Yes you should buy from the manufacturer directly. i used to build custom computers years ago and i bought from Tigerdirect because you can get small quantities.

imdomi Wayfarer

You should definately work towards buying directly from manufacturers, but while you are small scale it might not be an option for many parts.

To buy parts from manufacturers you will often need to make somewhat large purchases.  This may be a problem since you might not have enough cash to pay for large orders, and also because the parts might get outdated before you use them.  Even if you get a good price by buying hundreds of motherboards, if it takes you years to use them you will likely be left with outdated overpriced parts you no longer need.

On the other hand, things like cases and power cords and packaging won't be outdated quickly and ordering in bulk from manufacturers will be the best option for price.  Depending on your interests you could design custom cases and have them made by a local machine shop.  This would also require large orders, but may result in more unique and less expensive cases.