Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 28, 2009 6:47 AM by markrobinson

Accounting software recommendations for freelancer?

EastCoastDev Wayfarer

I'm a freelance web developer, and have been working as a sole proprietor for the past year. My accountant has advised me go down the route of setting up an S-Corporation (or possibly an LLC), which I'm planning to do this month. As this makes everything a lot more formal, it's probably the best time to get things like banking and accounting processes in order, and as a result, I'm looking to start using something like Quickbooks.

Until now, I've been using a messy solution consisting of various Excel spreadsheets to keep track of invoices and expenses, but would really like to get rid of this in favor of something more organized and easier to use. One of the potential pitfalls is that a large portion of my clients are abroad and prefer to be invoiced in their local currency, so I'd like to use an accounting application that can deal with this.

So, I guess this makes my main requirements:

• Suitable for managing accounts for consultancy-type businesses
      • Able to easily manage invoicing in multiple currencies

I've skimmed over Quickbooks and Microsoft Office Accounting and both look okay, though I was hoping someone in a similar situation could offer some advice and recommend something. Any advice would be most appreciated.

• Re: Accounting software recommendations for freelancer?
          Hey if you find the answer - please share with us, I'd be very curious to know. Check out NetSuite though to see if they support multiple currencies, and if their pricing is within reason. Last time I checked, they were charging $100/mo per user, along with high pressure sales tactics which I did not enjoy.
              EastCoastDev Wayfarer