Post a new topic
    1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 26, 2011 1:39 PM by Moderator_MoniE

Photographer looking for some business advice.

nasakabrm Newbie

First of all, I'd just like to say hello to all of those that take the time to read this.

I am currently a photographer/digital designer with more and more paying jobs by the minute it seems, but not enough to make it a full time job, as well as a pharmacy technician student (no current loans).  I'm looking at officially registering my business here within the next few weeks as well out of pocket.  My main questions are if there is any suggestions for grants/loans for my photography business.  Currently I have enough equipment to function, but I am always striving to be better at what I do, and I want to provide the best quality that I possibly can. 

To finalize my equipment (I'm already around $6000 out of pocket) I'd need to accrue grants/loans up to the amount of $10000.  I don't plan on needing it in the very near future, as I plan to wait on the releases of the latest Nikon camera bodies, although I could use a 70-200mm f2.8 nikkor lens for some upcoming shoots.  As far as a studio goes, I run one out of my home, and have access to another for 100 dollars a month split with some other business associates that we partner up for weddings with.

My main issue is that I've dumped the majority of my liquid assets without risking my personal comfort funding my passion. While it is just starting to pay itself off it leaves me with minimal equity.  I have a couple cars that combined aren't worth all that much, probably $7000 or so, as well as possible co-signers, my parents which I don't want to involve.