Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2011 4:42 PM by Greg Miliates

Need advice - one person consultant operation

JorgeL Newbie

I'm a retired scientist (living in Florida) and have started consulting as a one person operation.  I've some retainer-based and ad hoc clients.   As explained to me, I don't see too much benefit in LLC, incorp etc.  One client asked if they were doing business directy with me or as a company - and asked more questions if the latter. 

If I'm just me, not an LLC or corp, what is the classificaiton of this business (sorry if this is an ignorant question)?  My banker wants a tax number and business name before I can set up a speicifc checking account.  

• Re: need advice - one person consultant operation
          WestCoastLife Wayfarer

Hi Jorge,

You can be a sole proprietorship if you'd like, and it is easiest if your last name is in your business name; otherwise you need to file a Fictitious Business Name (city offices will help) and say you are Jorge L_____ DBA Science Consulting (or whatever name you choose).  The city business license fees are pretty low and you can use your own social security number as your tax number for tax purposes.  You would just file a 1040 Tax Return and submit a Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business that describes your expenses vs. income.  Plus you have to complete a self-employment tax form (Schedule SE). If you had a loss, you don't have to pay.  Otherwise, in 2009 for instance, you had to pay 15.3% taxes on 92.35% of your profit.   I was employed in 2010 so I didn't do it that year.