Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2011 6:06 AM by Newbie2AllThis

Websites / Ecommerce

DannyDigital Wayfarer

I just saw a lot of people posting about e-commerce and websites. As I am a professional web developer I want to point out a few things:

1. You are only as successful as your website and a lot of the "free" templates and sites are basic platforms that are geared to a wide audience and most likely will lack what you would require as a business.
      2. There is never a one size fits all
      3. Good web development is crucial for customer retention and user experience
      4. Just because you are making some sales doesn't mean it is working for you, what if you sell 100 items per week but you lost another 300 because your customers got lost or it was not customer friendly?
      5. Every business is unique and your customer will behave different, you have to make sure you monitor your website traffic not just "how may" people visit your website but also a) where do they come from b) where do they go c) how long do they stay d) how many pageviews e) abandon carts. All of these metrics allow you to understand your customer better and "fine tune" your website. For example, if you have a lot of abandon carts it could mean several things such as your shipping rates are too high, you processing is too long, they don't trust your security, etc. those are things that have to be worked on and adjusted to turn these window shoppers into paying customers.
      6. Keep in mind that people have your competitor at their finger tips, if you look like you "saved" money on your website and they go to another site that looks like it is owned by a bigger company, you may lose that one.
      7. On the web "image" is all you have especially when someone never did business with you.
      8. Free templates are free so they are in heavy use with other companies. You don't want to get the "the website looks like your competitors"