Post a new topic
    1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 9, 2011 12:55 PM by BizOptimizer

Reality check: Want to own business, limited exp., good capital

perpetuitas Newbie

Hello all -

Found this stop by way of researching FedEx route opportunities. After browsing around, and, since this is month 7 or 8 of trying to get something going I need a reality check from totally objective sources.

The short of it:

So I have very little operational experience but tons of life experience and a decent amount of my own capital.

I don't want to do a startup, mainly because my ideas are all food based and I'd like to mitigate the risk by buying a business that's already running and profitable. I worked very hard to grow this money.

People always say follow your passion. Well I have to be honest, my passion is to have a revenue stream that ideally doesn't involve working for another employer (save possible franchise ops)! I love a lot of things but most of all I love making money because that means security.

Some days I can go into a tailspin ... wondering if anyone will deal with me due to my lack of experience.

Can a guy with a good amount of cash and desire buy a break?

thanks for any encouragement! see below for my background and efforts thus far.

Robert

Background: