Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 25, 2008 12:17 PM by Cinergy

Filing taxes as a LLC in CA

PacificPizza Newbie
      I am a new business owner. I have set up an LLC to run my pizza biz. Starting off was very difficult, but now things are under control. Unfortunately, I have not found a CPA or anything. I have just been keeping track of all my own numbers (Sales, Food Cost, etc) and paying all my own taxes with the BoA program. Not being too familar with how LLC file taxes in CA, any helpful ideas? I was thinking about using TurboTax Business Edition to file my LLC taxes for this year. Has anyone tried this? Any advice would greatly be apreciated. Is this something I can do on my own, or should I start to look for an CPA ?

• Re: Filing taxes as a LLC in CA
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Pizza. Good luck as a new business owner. I am a Quickbooks Consultant in New York and have
          clients all over the county. I would be very happy to talk to you (FREE at no charge).
          I feel that every business person should have an Accountant, A lawyer and maybe even an Insurance Agent. Sometimes you have to spend money to make money (and sleep peacefully at night).
          If you want to talk about Quickbooks e mail me at " " and include a phone number.
            Wingman Adventurer
            Hi PacificPizza,

Not knowing if you are a single member LLC or have multiple members, it's hard to give accurate advice.

If you are comfortable doing your own taxes and have kept good records, then Turbotax for Business should be sufficient for you. If you have limited/no tax knowledge as they relate to business deductions and depreciation of assets, you should find yourself a professional. They should be able to discuss with you the pros/cons of filing a Fed Schedule C or electing to be taxed as a Corp.

Also, don't forget about the State of CA LLC tax return that you will need to file in addition to the traditional Fed 1040 and CA 540 returns.