Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2011 11:36 PM by BBruin

Retail or  Wholesale????

fashiongirl Newbie

I am interested in buying an existing business in fashion. Currently i am trying to decide between a clothing boutique or a clothing line. Both have been in business for 5 to 9 years. The boutique indicates sales of 500k p/year, with 2 part-time employees. The Clothing line indicates sales of  1million per year, and has 5 employees. I have never run either type of business. My background is in Marketing and Sales, I do have some idea of the industry, my parents had a small manufacturing business in the 80's and I practically grew up in showrooms and clothing factories, but I never got into the business.  I am determined to break into this business. I was hoping to take over the boutique, then slowly start my clothing line. But now I have been presented with the possibility of a clothing line which is already somewhat branded and profitable. Obviously I will need to review financial information on both, I just need input from people who know this industry and can give me advice, and/or some clarity on what I'm getting myself into. Thank You.......FG

• Retail or  Wholesale????
          anitaflood Newbie

I would go with the clothing line do be afraid retail is the best. You may need more help but in the long run you will be more satisfied.

• Retail or  Wholesale????
            phanio Pioneer

The choice is really a personal one - both will take a lot of work - not just in selling but in the entire management.

This should also be a financial one - which opportunity provides the greatest return for the costs.

I would suggest you find  SCORE office or SBDC and sit down with them and go through the pros and cons of each.