Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2011 10:29 AM by Barky Dog

Any tips for a new construction company trying to get some direction

bkmerrell3630 Newbie

I am green to this situation to be quite honest im a locomotive engineer currently for union pacific railroad and I was asked to take over my uncle's construction company i have no idea how to run a business all i know is im good with people honest almost to a fault and would really love for this to work i just dont know what to do with what i have. We have our tax info all of our certifications to do business in the state of missouri and kansas  but financing is a issue to cover my overhead i have alot of people depending on my decisions i just want to make the right moves and thoughts or help will be greatly appreciated.

• This reply has been hidden. This can happen if the message has been hidden by a moderator, or has been reported as abusive.
        • Re: Any tips for a new construction company trying to get some direction
          LUCKIEST Guide

Locomative Engineer. It sounds like a most interesting challenge.

Anybody with a bookkeeping or accounting background in your family?? One of the people depending on your decisions??

I almost always write about SCORE. SCORE is FREE both in person or online.

The right SCORE Counselor can help. A good business plan also is helpful.

I have both an accounting and Quickbooks background and I can help, let me know.

Good luck

• Re: Any tips for a new construction company trying to get some direction
            PiperE Wayfarer

BK,

Starting a business without knowing about business is a risky prospect. Doing something well is not a good reason to go into busness, because doing what you do well and running a business are two ENTIRELY different skill sets.