Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2011 10:03 AM by KathleenF

Starting a

pintu Newbie

Hi All

I am new to this business areas. Currently I am working on H1B visa and I am going to start my own business. I am going to open a dance club but I am just investing money in it. My othere partners are citizens of states and they are the one who is going to work and take care of the business. I will be investing as a passive partner and hold shares of the company.

Now, my questions are:

1. Is it legal to invest as a passive partner in such kind of business while holding a h1b visa.

2. How I am going to file for the tax for that?

3. Any other thing, you can think of which I should keep in mind?

I will really appreciate any sort of help on this.

Thanks in advance

• Starting a
          KathleenF Scout

Hi pintu,

Your best bet is to contact a corporate attorney and a tax accountant.  Those are some pretty serious questions that shouldn't be taken lightly. 

For question #3, does your partner's in question have a business plan?  Any experience running a business?  How well do you know them and their history?

Kathleen

• Re: Starting a
              LUCKIEST Guide

Kathleen, What happened to my answer about contacting a lawyer??

• Starting a
                  KathleenF Scout

Hi Luckiest,

We need to expand our responses a little bit; if you wouldn't mind.  Replying with one liners don't really add quality to the conversation.  You have a great wealth of knowledge that could benefit the conversations and questions being asked.  Just expand on your responses a bit and I'm sure there will be no issues with with your content.

Thanks for understanding!

Kathleen

• Re: Starting a
                      wordperfect Scout

Hi Kathleen, well, in a way I can see where you are coming from, and your comment does carry some validity.

However, I have serious reservations about the wisdom of editing comments on that basis.