Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2011 5:52 AM by edphzo

Common Law Trademark Help

edphzo Newbie

Newbie here requesting guidance on common law trademark protection. Case is as follows:

Co.A has been using Product X as a product name since 2001 for a software solution, selling online nationwide, as well as countries in Europe and Asia. Unfortunately, the thought of registering a trademark for Product X name never crossed the mind of Co.A, especially since they have not met with such matters prior to this. Co.A is registered in NV, if that helps.

Co.B registers a trademark for Product X on Jan 2011, and proceeds to send a cease and desist letter to Co.A regarding the use of the name. Co.B is using the name for an identical product. Co.B has also stolen the use of Co.A's motto and slogan for Product X.

Apologise for the use of the generic names, as this question is being asked on behalf of a friend (namely, Co.A's owner). The owner has been tearing his hair out trying to figure a way around this situation, and the lawyer suggests that Co.A may have a tough fight.

To help him, I have been researching a little on this, thus stumbling over this forum. Part of my research shows that we may be able to make a stand using Common Law Trademark terms. Regrettably, my knowledge on such matters is negligible, and I would like to learn more about this approach, if possible.

• Common Law Trademark Help
          LUCKIEST Guide

Welcome, When it comes to Trademark Law, Get a GOOD lawyer who specializes in trademarks.

Good luck

LUCKIEST Guide

P S, SCORE on line might have lawyers who can help.

You can pick and chooses the one or more than one who could help you.

And remember SCORE is FREE and Confidential.

Paul Reidl Newbie