Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2010 5:06 PM by DomainDiva

Advice on starting an investment firm

Hello,

I am a college student majoring in business at a college in Massachusetts. I am looking to start a residential real estate investment firm soon. I have already created a business plan. In addition, I went to visit SCORE where I received some great advice. Also, I have joined my local Real Estate Investors club.

I have thouroughly studied the real estate market in Massachusetts. Futhermore, I have interned with a local real estate investment company for approximately two years.

In regards to the firm I am looking to create, since I am a college student my firm will not have a lot of start-up capital. I understand that this means my investment options and strategies are going to be very limited; however, I would like to take advantage of strategies such as short-selling, wholesaling,etc. In order to purchase properties at a minimal cost with the intent of selling them shortly after for a profit.

I am seeking any advice from real estate professionals, especially seasoned investors, realtors, attorney, or any other real estate entrepreneurs. In particular, I am seeking advice in terms of what steps I should take next, what strategies may work best, tools I may find useful, etc.

Also, I am interested in anyone who is willing and able to mentor me through this process.

Any advice would be helpful,

Thanks in advance,

• Advice on starting an investment firm
          DomainDiva Ranger

Hi Max,

The first thing you need is an incredible credit score in the high 700's to low 800's. You also must have capital or other collateral that you can turn into cash such as investments, retirement account money etc. However since you are a college student you don't have the rescources to fall back on right now. It sounds like you want to do way too much too soon.