Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2010 12:07 AM by summitlife

New Business Beginnings; go alone or with partners?

akeod99 Newbie
      I'm a young(ish) corporate executive in Alaska. The company I am with isn't huge, but a solid middle market performer (about $220 million in sales). I'm 32 years old and served in the military until I was 29. I have a BSBA and MBA. I've passed the AVA and CMAP cert tests but haven't had time to do the case study.

After the military I started in business development for a subsidiary and then took over the strategy/M&A department for the parent company about a year later. I've been able to grow the corp by about $70 million over the last year through some strategic acquisitions that I spearheaded for the company. The acquisition team that I put together did a great job in getting through the acquisitions quickly and effectively so good on them - we were all proud of the work we accomplished. Anyway, I've been approached by some folks about starting our own consulting business with my part of the partnership focusing on strategic planning, business planning and development, gov't contracting assistance, and exit strategies/M&A assistance. The others are CPA types and would focus on accounting/book keeping, etc.

In going with partners I think my personal risk is spread out a little bit. We have more potential clients to approach by bring in multiple partners. So my feeling is that going in together is likely the best approach. We are all single income homes and all agree that another source of income is good. We've identified a niche to go after as well. For those that have started businesses, am I correct in that partnerships might be better in the consulting world - assuming there is a good relationship to start amongst the potential partners?