Post a new topic
    1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 17, 2010 10:17 AM by TheSoloGuide

How to start an independant school bussiness?!

Refaced Newbie
      I am a 16 year old student in high school and me a couple of friends would like to start a business customizing various objects and clothing using spraypaint and stencils. The start up costs would be pretty low as we were already doing it for ourselves and have the paint and stencil materials already. Also, we were going to have people bring in their own products and just have them pay for the service. We already have lots of premade stencils and some shirts (that we wear). There seems to be quite a bit of interest.
      Do we need a seperate person to manage finances? Three of us are in art and would be making the stencils. I'm pretty confidant that I can also handle the bussiness portion (marketing, pricing, sales etc.) but I am not very good with math (none of us are). We have a fourth friend who works at a law firm and wants to manage our finances and potentially get us a copyright. If we did "hire" him, how would we determine how much he would get paid? By "job"? Or just a flat monthly? Would we even have to pay taxes? We want to eventually expand to premade apperal and perhaps screenprinting and want to have enough to save. we're not even sure how we would split revenue between us anyway. Or would we just keep it all together for company use only? Or pay by stencil? Or am I getting way too ahead of myself? Help!
        • Re: How to start an independant school bussiness?!
          Tracker

Refaced:

If none of your are good at math, chances are you would struggle to manage your finances properly. So, yes, you should hire a professional to handle this aspect of your business.