Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2008 8:45 PM by NOBLEED

Special education!

adorcely Newbie
      My goal is to open a special education Pre-K for children with learning disabilities/ autism/Language disabilities and so on. I have the greatest vision of providing these services to the population either for free or at subsidy price. The key to special education is if caught early, the child stand a chance to function well later on. My son was diagnosed with a learning and language disability when he was two, and because I was a school teacher and aware of what therapy I should use, today he can function 90% like a child of his age. However, if I had waited on that waiting list for a year or two without doing anything, God knows where we would be today. My question is how can I get a facility donated to me to open that school. I can write grants for supplies and other things I suppose. My main issue here is the location. If I go under non-profit how would pay scale go???????
      Anybody have any ideas???????
        • Re: Special education!
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Special education, thanks for sharing. Where are you located?? How soon??
          Glad to know that you were a school teacher. It has to help with licenses etc.
          Do you have a Business and Marketing Plan??
          Tell use more, the more we know the better our answers.
          Good luck, LUCKIEST
              adorcely Newbie
              I am still a school teacher and I am located in Atlanta. My goal is to have the school open this may. I am working with the SBA on my business plan. The need is so great that the research is taking me a long time. I can get the license, it is just a training and since I am already certified that will open other doors for me.
                  LUCKIEST Guide
                  Special education, Thanks for your quick answer. Glad to know you are working with the SBA.