Post a new topic
    2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2010 6:05 PM by amspcs

Using a State retirement account as collateral?

Beatnik Newbie
      I am an independent contractor for a large package delivery company. Recently; due to government pressure; the company was forced to introduce a new business model which no longer allows contractors to own just one "route", or work area. beginning in October, we must own at least 3 of them.

I plan on purchasing 2 more work areas. I have 50% to put down, but the seller needs cash up front.

My wife has a state retirement fund that would take care of most of the balance, but we are retiring in less than 10 years and I don't want to cash it out. The penalties and taxes n early withdrawal are substantial, and when the retirement payments are activated at age 55 It will pay out as much as an account that is worth about 4 times as much in a standard IRA, etc.

I have 2 options. Sell my business of over 20 years and lose my source of income, or purchase the other 2 work areas... so I am buying regardless. I'm just wondering if my wife's retirement account can be used as collateral on a loan.
        • Re: Using a State retirement account as collateral?
          FinanceOne Wayfarer
          The simple answer is yes. However, a lot of State and Municipal retirement funds do no allow for early withdrawl so this type of asset is not always considered liquid. If it isn't a liquid asset it can't be pledged as collateral. You may want to check on the terms and conditions for early withdrawl. Either way, I would only use retirement funds (pledged or liquidated) as a last resort.