Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2010 5:28 AM by TheSoloGuide

Need words of wisdom in going forward...

bayley4 Newbie
      I have developed a brand new company (bridal/formalwear, an LLC) and after 2 years of researching, studying, listening & dreaming, and after 2 months of writing a business plan, I woke up today feeling hesitant for the first time and I honestly have moments where I wonder if other business owners had the same thoughts as I'm having. My ex-husband is a very successful business owner (retired at 38!) and I did learn a lot from him- I learned to be realistic & conservative, as well as the concept of risk vs. reward. I've also done my homework for this- I am a certified teacher with my M.Ed. but don't ever want to teach again! I have lots of experience in all aspects of the retail industry and creative arts as well, and I finally decided that I can do this- so many others out there do, but does one normally come to this point of hesitating on jumping off the cliff feeling this way, knowing its not guaranteed? I'm not fearful but I'm also not in denial about the realities of an unsuccessful business. I have gone through too much these past few years with the divorce that I can't afford to lose anything and gamble my home, my funds or my credit to follow my dream , although I will never be content until I try, that's just my nature. I'm a safe player but not to the extent that I want to continue in a career that my heart is no longer in...