Post a new topic
    11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2011 11:37 AM by MarylandBanker

Home based jewelry artist

rosebud111 Newbie
      Hi everyone! Just joined, have enjoyed reading the stories and articles. I have been making jewelry for over 25 years but just recently decided to escalate it from a hobby to a real business. I hope to be able to have some extra income when I retire in 8 years. I plan on using etsy and getting a website. Any advice on the website? There are some local website designers but I want it to do more than just look pretty.
        • Re: Home based jewelry artist
          KathleenF Scout
          Hi Rosebud,

I would surely go with etsy.com. I personally prefer to shop for jewelry through that site. I always find such creative items that the branded stores just don't have.

I would start by getting a blog. If your finances are minimal I would go for blogger.com. If not and you want to go full out then purchase a domain through http://www.godaddy.com and setup a wordpress blog. I have hosted my domain at addaction.net for probably 10 years now. I've never had downtime and they have an affiliate program that darn near pays my monthly fee.

Setting up a wordpress blog is rather easy even for a non-programmer and you can find free wordpress templates that will do just fine. At addaction they actually have wordpress in the control panel for your domain and with a few clicks it's all setup and ready to use.

Blogging about jewelry, the process, technical aspects and the creation of your own products will help. I'd also get involved with some of forums specific to the creation of jewelry. Host a few give aways with sites such as http://www.moneysavingmom.com and other "mommy bloggers" by doing this it will help increase traffic to your site.

Just a few suggestions :)
          Kathleen
            phanio Pioneer