Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2010 4:12 PM by Arev01

Starting out new business...Need retailers to sell

SnehBoutique Wayfarer
      Hi All,
      I am new to all of this. Found this site while lookings for tips and tricks. I live in USA, but am a supplier with business in India. We sell quality womens apparel. Very elegant merchandise at extremely reasonable costs. I have seen stuff sold in Macy's, Lord & Taylor etc recently, it's mostly stuff from India, but priced very high.

I have the following:
      I have a business name
      I have conenctions to provide me as many shipments as required.
      I ahve a business plan.
      I know my target end client group

I need to know following...
      1. What is the supplier structure here in US like? eg, if I find a retailer, is the deal they buy and they sell. Or is it on return basis, in other words, they sell whatever they can adn then return the remaining back to me for other stuff?
      2. How do I go about finding these target demographics stores?
      3. What should I do the ensure proper payments? ( I don't want situations where retailers don't pay me)
      4. Are there any legal steps that I need to take...(I know if I do wholesale business then I need a FedID, any more things like this...)
        • Re: Starting out new business...Need retailers to sell
          RobClayton Wayfarer
          That is a lot of questions and each one of the them is answered the same - it depends. All retail outlets are differenet. They all have differnet policies. Some buy up front and that is it and some buy and will only pay you after they sell it (net returns). You just have go in and be willing to negotiate.