Post a new topic
    12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2010 2:16 PM by KathleenF

How do I start up my bookkeeping business?

gnome100 Newbie
      I have been working as a bookkeeper for about a year and I feel confident enough to start thinking about working for myself. I am registering for continuing education in accounting and I am starting to research small businesses, but my question is how do I start, what are the costs? How can I save money and how do I make my advertising effective? Im a total novice and any advice will be helpful.
      Thank you, N
        • Re: How do I start up my bookkeeping business?
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Start up my bookkeeping business.

Who are you?? Where are you??

I have helped others start up both bookkeeping and income tax businesses.

Would be glad to help you.
          <!--Session data-->
              gnome100 Newbie
              My name is Naomi, I am in Seattle. I work for a very small company as a bookkeeper/office manager. My previous job was also with a small company where I became the bookkeeper and learned on the job. I'm finding that I have a knack for it and I am very detail oriented. I just graduated college with a BS in Technical Management with a Concentration in Criminal Justice. I am 31 years old. I want to be my own boss and have the drive and skills necessary to being an entrepreneur. I am starting to gather all the necessary information on opening my own business and I am going to further my education by taking some Accounting classes, I have taken a lot of business classes in college for my degree but not too many accounting classes. I need some guidance and a mentor to bounce ideas off of and to make sure I don't make a lot of mistakes. Can you set me on the right path to starting up?
              Tracker

Gnome100:

Congratulations on pursuing your entrepreneurial spirit.

I have a couple of ideas that can help: