Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2010 12:16 PM by pill1973

Pharmacy Purchase Financing

pill1973 Newbie
      I am a pharmacist with 10 years of experience. I am interested in purchasing a running pharmacy but i need to get information about loan process and banks who specializes in lending money to Pharmacies.

I learned that the default rate for pharmacies is less than 0.5%.

Thank you.
        • Re: Pharmacy Purchase Financing
          phanio Pioneer
          I think this has been answered before. But, I don't know if there are certain banks or lenders that will fund your business just because it is a pharmacy. Banks and lender look at your ability to repay the loan or service the debt.

You might put together a business plan and find banks in your area that offer SBA guaranteed loans.

If you are planning on buying an existing pharmacy - you might ask the current owner to carry the note. Thus, if you can come up with say 10% down (easier to get approval for) - have the current owner carry the rest at 25 year amortization with 5 year balloon.

You could even hire a business broker to help you search - plus, most brokers knwo of local lenders who will want to do business with you.

Business Money Today
          http://www.businessmoneytoday.com
              pill1973 Newbie
              Thank you again for these great feedbacks.

I am browsing on the website you provided me and it is making alot of things cleared.
              In fact i found a bank "liveoakbank" who only lend money to Pharmacies, Veterinary Clinics and Dentists, thats a great starting point.

One seller carry back point, i was wondering in what circumstances would a seller want to carry a % of loan?

I understand that it depends but what would be a ballpart range APR for those seller financed loans?
                  phanio Pioneer