Post a new topic
    11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2008 12:51 AM by icebergtec

Starting an Independent Nurse Contractor Business

nurseloca Newbie
      I am an RN with 16 years of nursing experience. I have been doing agency and travel nursing for a couple of years. I am tired of having the middleman take so much of my money, and I want to take him out. I am in the process of writing a business plan. My question is: As an independent contractor do I need to have an EIN? My husband and I are doing this venture together. He has a business background, but information we are getting is difficult to understand. Also, with the LLC being in both of our names, how do we handle a ID number for him, or do we just need one for the LLC as a whole?
        • Re: Starting an Independent Nurse Contractor Business
          CorpCons08 Ranger
          Rather than start an LLC, you may want to consider starting an LLP. LLP's are reserved for professionals and share the same benefits as an LLC. The reason I suggest this is because you and your husband are doing this venture together, which qualifies you as a partnership. You only need an EIN for the LLC/LLP as a whole. You do not need individual tax ID numbers. Hope this information helps.

CC08
              nurseloca Newbie
              thank you for the information. I had not heard of the LLP. None of the literature that I found had listed that as an option. Are the legalities of this similar to the LLC? Also, what do I need to do first, apply for the LLP/LLC or file for a ficticious name, or is that an all in one deal, when forming the LLP/LLC? And, do I form the LLP/LLC first, then get the EIN for the business?
                  Lighthouse24 Ranger