Post a new topic
    21 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2008 9:12 PM by Generation4

Getting published - how to?

Generation4 Adventurer
      I've always thought it would be great to write a book and get it published. And certainly even better if I can collect royalty fees from people purchasing. I have no experience in this industry. Does anyone know how a novice like me - can shop their book to a true publishing house? I have no connections to anyone in this industry.
        • Re: Getting published - how to?
          slavaret Adventurer
          What's the book about?
              bizopps4u Newbie

The Bad News
              William Collins and Sons Ltd, in the UK, now part of Murdock's published my first book. The prnted 15,000 copies and it took then five yaers to sell them The marketing director confided that they spend very, very little on promoting their books, "We lose money on nine out of ten books. A book either sinks or swims. If it sinks we let it drown. If it floats we prnote it."

The good news
              I wrote my How To book in seven days. I self-published the first 1,000 copies and sold them all in a month without spending a penny on advertising. I sent out Press Releases to all the UK media.

The demand was so great I had to reprint it twice in the next two months. A literary friend with 16 books
              in print (Alexander Cordell) was the one who advised me not to self-publish any more.

Oh boy, was he ever wrong!

Now I write and publish simple tips reports and booklets. I sell them on the Internet and by direct mail
              I have writen an E-book on how too self-publish your own tips booklets. Send me a blank E-mail with
              "Tips Booklets and your FIrst Name" as the Subject. johjudeocallaghan@verizon.net
              Lighthouse24 Ranger