Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2010 8:30 PM by EvriThing

S Corp or LLC, what would be better?

EvriThing Newbie
      I want to start a business but don't know what would be better. I am a writer of music (lyrics). A writer of movies (screenplays). An author (fiction & nonfiction) and a poet (greeting cards). #$%^ Enterprise will be the parent company that will house the 4 subsudiaries, Music, Greetings, Publishing/Books and Pictures(film and TV). What would be the best entity to go with, S Corp or LLC. There's only one owner and that's me.
        • Re: S Corp or LLC, what would be better?
          EntrepidRon Newbie
          Evri:

It's really going to depend on what you want to get out of this endeavor. What's your reasoning for a parent company and 4 subsidiaries?

ER
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
              EvriThing Newbie
              Let's say I run into a contact that might love the pilot for my anime while I'm out there shucking and jiving trying to sell my music. Wouldn't it make sense to have some type of structure up. Business respects business. And I figured since, PUblishing, Music, Greetings and Pictures are all different fieilds in the entertainment and media industry for which I write. Wouldn't it be smart to have DBA's for each one under one umbrella? Do I do the one DBA at a time?, ( which will be smarter) Do I even need a Parent company? My reasoning basically is for each field to have its own identity separate from the rest because one doesn't have anything to do with the other. When I publish my book it would be under EvriThing Publishing, when I sell a screenplay or script made for TV it would be under EvriThing Pictures, song lyrics, EvriThing MUsic and Greeting Cards, EvriThing Greetings. Parent Company being EvriThing Enterprise. Is this the way I go about it?I need help.
                  bpfinance Adventurer