Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2010 10:01 AM by GA.CPA

Need assistance

TOOKIE Newbie
      I have an S corp and my accountant guy has been paying me with just a K1 and said I did not have to do a 1099 or w2. I am finding out on this site a lot of new info and I see now that for the last two years it has been wrong. So now I want to ask. How do I go about setting up payroll to have deductions taken out for mine and my husbands wages. We really don't make a lot and by the time all the deductions are made we get a K1 for about 5600 each for the year. Any suggesstions? We want to get this done right but don't know where to start.

This will be our second year of filing taxes.

Thanks for any help.
        • Re: Need assistance
          geobiz Wayfarer
          I don't know how much help I'll be but I'll try. I have my accountant prepare my quarterly taxes, they send me the completed forms an I pay it. FYI: I am a resident of IL so you may need to check your own states requirements. I pay: Form 941/Employer's Qtr Federal Tax Return (social security & medicare, Form 940/Employer's Annual Federal Unemployment Tax Return, Form (IL-941)/Qtr withholding Income Tax Return, as well as Form UI-3/40 / IL Employer's Qtr Contribution/Wage Report. Form 940 I pay online at eftps.gov. I hope that helps. I would suggest getting a new accountant. I dont know what the going rate is to have an accountant prepare the quarterly taxes but I pay only $25.00 a month.
              TOOKIE Newbie
              Thank you for the info but do you think it would be a problem starting two years later with the wages? Since it states that we had to register the employees 15 days into it?

Also, for the this year can a W2 be made for us two without taking out the FICA taxes? Or should we just do a 1099 for now and then start in 2010 with w'2's?

Any advise is greatly appreciated.
                  GA.CPA Newbie