Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2010 6:37 PM by Global_US

Are Reators a good source?

SunbeltLLC Newbie
      I am a contractor in need of work. How can I use Realtors to help get me work and/or referrals?
        • Re: Are Reators a good source?
          DomainDiva Ranger
          You need a portfolio of your work. Contact the 'higher end' realtors and those realtors who have signs in neighborhoods that are 'turning over'. When daling with these realtors always be on the 'business casual' side of the contractor, pressed jeans, starched shirts, really nice portfolio....

Do some research on the relators using the Sunday Real Estate Section of your local newspaper. Also go to the open houses for existing homes and start chatting everyone up you meet and leave a card or a nice little brochure.

A great example of a neighborhood turning over is Morrisdale Estates in Euless Texas (near DFW). The home were up scale in the early 1960s when built and the area is beautiful but the homes are in need of repair. So people that are in their 30's or 40's that want to be in that area and have extra money will buy and renovate. That's where you come in.

I say this because this AM we looked at a house in that area. Loved the floor plan, but the aged pink tile bathrooms, rose colored carpet, old tubs and cracks in the walls as well as some serious roof issues make this impossible for someone in the older age bracket (such as I am). Like I told my husband, if I was 20 years younger, had the money, no sense and wanted to be in that area I would make an offer now.

Good Luck.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            DebbyBlitzLoc Adventurer