Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2010 8:03 AM by demejoe

Bakery??

craftychick10 Newbie
      I have been baking for 3 local farmers markets for 2 yrs now with success, I am fully licensed and lease a fully licensed bakery kitchen. In 09 I lost my full time job and would like to take the jump and have a full time operating bakery, the problem is of cource money, are there any true grant companies? I have recieved thousands of emails but not sure who to believe and is honest. I am established in and around our area and feel that a full time bakery is what our town needs, no bakery close by and a fully operating bakery would be adventagious right now. I do know someone who sells equiptment and would give me a great deal on some repurposed items we would need to get started.
      This has been along time coming and I really want to make it succeed and wam willing to commit myself in what it takes to run a full time business so any suggesstions would be greatly appreciated.
      Thank you.
        • Re: Bakery??
          Tracker

CraftyChick10:

As far as a reliable person for funding information, I recommend you seek out a community member that goes by the screen name "phanio". He provides excellent information on breaking down loans into applicable categories along with sources for those funds.

You most likely will need a formal business plan. Even if you don't, I still recommend you create one. I have a page on my site to help you out. Here's the link:

http://thesologuide.com/planning/

Prior to creating your plan, determine your UVP (unique value proposition) prior to getting started. Although you mention there aren't any full time bakeries in the immediate area, you still have indirect competition through grocery stores and the like. Your plan will support your UVP. You will need to do market research to complete your plan.

I recently owned a restaurant, so if you need help, let me know.

Hope this helps.

Doug Dolan