Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2012 12:20 PM by biz2capital

Restaurant loan

petit4 Newbie
      Hi, I'm happy I stumbled on this website, hopefully someone here will have some info that would help me.
      I am a single middle age woman and I would love to know what is my chance to get financial help to open a restaurant.
      I worked as a chef for 14 years for family restaurant so I know what is involved. I did spend more hours in than the owners.
      I did my menus, all ordering, food cost, cut my meat and fish, made soups and desserts, all the prep etc.I even cemented holes in the floor,cleaned coils on refrigerators and tiled floor in the bathroom
      Now I work as a waitress past 3 years but realized that will not get me anywhere.Reason why I quit the cooking is b/c I felt I've been taken advantage off. I did not have benefits or paid holidays or bonuses,our vaccation was one week of unemployment. My hourly pay was 50 cents more than lunch cook but I had all this responsibility! And lets not talk about how overtime pay worked . Anyway, so I took a break.
      I would like to find something in decent location, cost of rent would be important to me. Since working w/ almost 200 seats I decided I'd like to have something smaller, more managable w/fewer employees.But no more than 70 seats.I can not stand people calling sick and not showing up. I am able to plan and set up kitchen for work efficiency. I know exactly what equipment I need. I have a menu- so far without prices b/c I don't know the current food cost but I know food companies and salesman from working w/them for so many years. As a mentioned, I wait tables and many customers know me and my food, I even help my bosses now w/ some specials and prep. I think I would have many customers from past following b/c they know my food.