Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2012 4:23 PM by fcpayroll

Starting new bookkeeping/accounting business

Jordan2010 Newbie
      Hello everyone.

My name is Hatem, I just joined the online community. I am an accountant working in the finance department of an international company, also I work as an accountant for a small company in which i do most of my part time work from home as an independent contractor. I've been doing my part time work for almost 5 years. Currently i've been seriously thinking about improving and expanding my own work by starting a bookkeeping/accounting business on the side, and try to attract new clients. So I am trying to figure out the best way to start bringing new clients and offer them my services. Please help me with any ideas or infomation to start promoting my business.
        • Re: Starting new bookkeeping/accounting business
          LUCKIEST Guide
          bookkeeping/accounting business

Good luck Hatem. Would like to talk to you about your new business.

LUCKIEST
          <!--Session data-->
            Tracker

Hatem:

I wrote a post about a year ago titled, "Can I Swim with the Sharks or Should I Get Back in the Boat?" Here's the link:

http://thesologuide.com/141/can-i-swim-with-the-sharks-or-should-i-get-back-in-the-boat/

Before you move forward with a business plan, I recommend that you take some time to consider how much time, money and risk you are willing to assume by starting your own business. Plus, if you start marketing your services and your current employers find out about it, would you financially be able to survive getting fired?

If you are already determined to move forward, then I recommend that you start by creating a plan. Some of the basics to begin with are defining your target market, defining what makes your services uniquely appealing for that market, a marketing strategy for getting their attention and how you will convert them into customers.