Post a new topic
    10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2008 5:23 PM by nytaxguy

Sales Tax Account

Buffalo Adventurer
      It's sales tax time again...yuk. I would like some opinions on this...do you keep a seperate bank account for your sales tax? In other words do you move money to a special bank account weekly or monthly or whenever so that it is seperate from your operating capital?
      I think that would give me a more realistic picture of the money that is "mine" and the money would be there for payment.
      Any thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks.
        • Re: Sales Tax Account
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Yes, Sales tax rolls around every 3 months in New York. As you know sales tax is NOT income.
          You collect the tax and then pay it to the State. Do you have an Accountant?? Are your books on
          a business program like quickbooks or a spreadsheet. As you know I am a quickbooks consultant and
          quickbooks does NOT show sales tax as income. It gets posted to the sales tax liability.
          To me, it would seem like more work to move the sales taxmoney to a special bank account whenever.
          BUT everybody is different. Do what gives you the best picture.
          LUCKIEST
              nytaxguy Wayfarer
              You can report sales tax as income if you choose. You can then record sales tax paid as an expense. For NY Sales tax reporting sales tax included in sales is backed out to report taxable sales to NY. This is usually fairly easy to do for a NY only company and not too many counties.
              Lighthouse24 Ranger

Sales tax collected (but not yet paid to the state) is not kept in a separate bank account, but is in a separate account in the books -- and the business' books are what give you (or anyone) the most accurate picture of the money that is "yours." Hope this helps. Best wishes.
                DomainDiva Ranger