Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2009 10:53 AM by Brocante64

Low Cost Websites for All - Reality or Myth?

Brocante64 Wayfarer
      I am no computer expert, but over the past few years I have used the internet as a regular part of my daily life. On many occasions friends and colleagues have approached me to ask about either selling something or "getting their idea" online. When I explained to them (as best I could) not so much the difficulties, but more the cost, of creating a functional website they all basically turned away from the idea.
      It seemed a shame to me that the ordinary "man on the street" couldn't easily avail of this most exciting and powerful medium, so I set about attempting to create something for them. Brocante64.com is my basic concept; just launched, but fully functional, it is designed specifically for the person wanting to sell/advertise their stuff on a really low budget.
      I am well aware that the site needs more functionality options, and these will come in time, but (and I value your comments here) I believe that it addresses the fundamental demands of someone trying to join the eCommerce community.

In these days of high unemployment and dramatically falling living standards it seems to me that the internet MUST be available to all. Having a website not only provides a potential income, but just as importantly gives focus and hope to the owner - a rare commodity for many people these days.

My question here is:- can these people expect a fair crack of the whip? With the muscle that Google, Yahoo et al utilise to push their adwords & PPC campaigns, linked with the business interests of the multitude of SEO & web designers, is this concept doomed to failure?
      It appears to me that all these business interests are attempting (and generally succeeding) in making the web somehow elitist - like the golf clubs of old - expensive to join, and, you have to know someone to get your membership approved!!