Post a new topic
    29 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2009 1:51 PM by css1985

Starting a new business, based on my current gig

tigerente Wayfarer
      I run a some what successful dog walking and pet sitting business. I have been doing it for just over two years. I work at most 5 hours a day and my gross income is about $2000/ month. I would love to make more than that, but I can only walk so many dogs a day and I am at about full capacity. I have been thinking about opening a business based off of what I do now. I do dog park trips, and especially during the winter, it sucks! The park is muddy, the dogs get filthy and I am cold! During the summer the dogs are hot and lazy and the park is dusty and I get dust in my teeth, in my nose and in my hair. I would love to have an indoor place to take my dogs. It is something I have heard from a lot of people. Why not start an indoor dog park? There are loads of overpriced doggy day cares that are always full, and no where for people to take their dogs themselves during the day or after work. I know all the local dog walkers in the area, and they would love something like this to take their dogs when they are feeling tired or lazy and the same with all the local dog owners. It gets dark at 4 pm now, so many people don't even take their dogs out to play when they get home from work in the winter.
      My mom is a small business accountant, so she helped me set up my current business, and she could help me with this one as well. I am kind of aware of all the millions of steps that I need to do before starting my business, but in what order? I know I need to draft a business plan, find funding, research grants (my aunt has written grant stuff before for public schools, so I may ask her for help). I will need to find a large warehouse that would allow dogs inside that has ample parking, get it rennovated with rubber floors and all the trimmings. I am just not sure what the first step should be, or the 50 steps after that.