Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2010 10:07 PM by Uncle Leon

Unorganized Entrepreneur Needs Help Badly.

lisuccess Newbie

I need advice badly. I've been a freelancer for the past 3 years and only recently I have been earning a steady income. At one time, I would have to work extremely hard with marketing just to get a customer or two. Now I have 5 steady clients, finally. However, I need some advice on how to correct the following flaws:

• 1. I'm fast with some clients when it comes to completing projects. Other clients I'm slow with turning in projects. This has caused me to miss out on $1000 worth of freelance work in September.
      • 2. I'm unorganized. Every time I try to get organized with my daily work schedule, something comes up and hinders me from doing it.
      • 3. I need advice on how to schedule "me time". I never have time for myself and my other endeavors.

Advice is Welcome!
        • Re: Unorganized Entrepreneur Needs Help Badly.
          Tracker

lisuccess:

I break people down freelancers into two personality categories - structured and fluid. The structured freelancer typically works best when they break their day into defined time frames of specific functions while the fluid freelancer often feels stifled by a structured day.

For the structured freelancer, I recommend that they set a daily schedule of tasks and time buckets. For example, a structured freelancer may have a schedule where each day from 8:00 AM to 9:00 AM they read and answer their emails; then from 9:00 AM to 10:00 AM they write a blog post, and so on.

However, using the same example, but inserting a fluid freelancer into the equation, I recommend that they create a requirement whereby they will spend one hour each day for emails, one hour each day creating content, and so on, but they can complete these time requirements whenever they want throughout the day - as long as they complete all tasks daily.