Post a new topic
    2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 1, 2009 10:40 AM by RedTieMedia

Dessert Bar

CraveSweets2 Newbie
      Hello.

I am a college student and have always has a passion for baking. I live in a somewhat small area off North Carolina's Coast and there is only one bakery in our area, and to be honest its not the best. I am originally from Philadelphia, and what I am use to is something they lack down here, and I see a market for it.

I had this idea to open a Dessert Bar after having my birthday a few weeks ago. After dinner with my friends, we didnt want to go to a bar or club, we wanted to still have a great night out, but there was no place to go. Then thats when it hit me, to open a Dessert Bar that will be open later, have live music at night, but basically just be a new way for evening entertainment for students as well as families or young professionals. Would anyone be able to help me on how to get started, and even if this idea is way to far fetched? Any tips will be fantastic.
        • Re: Dessert Bar
          Tracker

CraveSweets2:

I love your spirit and desire to bring something new to your area.

The first two steps that I recommend entrepreneurs take is to determine their USP (unique selling proposition - what makes you unique that customers will come buy from you) followed by a developing a business plan to support it.

It sounds like you have started to define your USP, but I have a feeling that you may change it (how you market it, but the concept will remain very similar) as you perform research for your business plan. I'll explain more in a minute.

Here's a link to a free page on my site to give you the necessary components of a business plan along with ideas for each section:

http://thesologuide.com/planning/