Post a new topic
    10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2007 2:31 PM by CorpCons08

Donating a service / product

cjonesnyc Newbie
      Hello I am a freelance web designer / developer who is often approached by non-profit organizations. While I would love to do work for some of these organizations, they usually can't afford my services and I can't really afford to not charge or give that much of a discount especially with out some sort of tax benefit (write-off). Researching through this forum and many others its been made pretty clear that you cannot write off donations of time spent for providing a service. What makes me still ask this question is that couldn't the website be looked at as a product instead of a service? The projects I usually work on, because of their nature, are charged on an hourly basis. If I were to charge a flat fee then aren't they paying for the delivery of the end result and not time? or would my only solution be to come up with some sort of "website-in-a-box", which would be a general purpose site focused for a specific type of organization that could be purchased or donated and then only charge for customization and additional design?
        • Re: Donating a service / product
          CorpCons08 Ranger
          Honestly, I don't believe there is any way to write-off a website you design for a group at no cost.
          This is definitely a question more so for an accountant than anything.
          None of us on here are going to give the best advice on this in my opinion, unless we have a CPA on here.
            LUCKIEST Guide
            C J, Lets try answering your question from an Accountants view.
            How long have you been in business?? Do you have an Accountant??
            I am guessing that you have filed a Business Tax return in prior years.
            Lets start with INCOME. You bill out invoices for your services. At year end you add up