Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2009 12:43 AM by MoveForward

Looking for some help with a childcare center

backtobasics Wayfarer
      Hello everyone,
      I am new to this sight and after reading some of the advise and doing some research i have decided to give this a try. my question is as follows: I have been in the childcare field for 18yrs, the first few years I worked at numerous childcare centers and held positions from assistant teacher thru assistant director. I have helped a few of them through licencing proceeders and with financual issues. I then opened my home childcare business and was very profitable, I was consider a group home where I could take care of 12 children at a time with an assistant. I was full within 2 months of opening and had a waiting list of a year within 6 months. I then after 10 yrs opened up a childcare center of my own. due to not planning and looking into the building history I had to close my doors 6 months after opening. I have since then gone to school and have recieved my Associates degree in early childhood education and development which means that I now can be my own director which saves roughly $15-$20/hr on my budget. I am currently in school for my bacholers degree in business management and will achieve this in a year. I am looking to again move to a center and try this again with the knowledge I have learned since the last center that I owned. I would like to lease a home that is on commercial property and open Home away from home childcare. My problem is I need to have a business partner or an investor and I'm not sure if they are out there for this type of business. I have a lot of different things that I offer to the families and children That I'm invovled with. Would also like to incorperate a few openings in my childcare for parents who just need a break for a few hours a week or month. I live in Michigan and any thoughts or advise would be greatful. Thank you for your time.