Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2009 3:09 PM by Aries1

Can I get a loan using my inventory as collateral?

Aries1 Newbie
      I am a designer and had a show room at the Apparel Mart in Atlanta, but unfortunately, I was not writing enough orders to pay the $2500 a month rent, so I closed the showroom and put the entire stock in storage to join my husband who is consulting in Peru. The inventory is worth about $150,000. I have never taken a loan from a 3rd party to run the business. I have been fortunate enough to be financed by my husband, but I want to start managing on my own. My goal is to open a small boutique instead to sell directly to both consumers and buyers and to launch my e-commerce. I hate to leave all that inventory in storage, so I was hoping to open a boutique here in Lima, sell off the old stock and produce new collections. Is there a way to get a loan of about $50,000 using my inventory as collateral as our personal credit score is not that perfect.
        • Re: Can I get a loan using my inventory as collateral?
          phanio Pioneer
          The only way to turly know if you can is to get out and talk with lenders. However, most lenders want to see that you turning over that inventory - ie converting that investory into cash - if it is sitting in storage - they might frown on that.

Why not try eBay or sell your entire stock to another retailer? - Might be a quick way to get the funding you need - especailly if you sell it at a great discount. There are also other wholesalers or retailers that could help you liquidate - like overstock.com or similar sites.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            MoveForward Scout
            You will not be able to use your inventory for collateral this is not tanglable collateral.