Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2009 8:09 AM by Tianna

Freelance Artist, how to start business?

mythrilwolf Newbie
      I am an artist who wants to do commissions online. I just want to make money, but I dont want to get in trouble with the IRS when it comes to taxes.

I wanted to use paypal to accept online payments and connect paypal to a checking account so I can access the money immediately.

I want a seperate account from my personal accounts, to keep the money I
      make from work seperate from the money I use for personal things like
      food, bills, etc. I would put the tax money in the business account (and money for business expenses) and
      then transfer my "pay" as it were into my personal bank account. Do I
      NEED a business account specifically? I really dont want to have to apply for one
      especially since this is only a piece of my income. Im not setting up a
      business name, dba, llc, corp, whatever. I just want to freelance to
      earn some extra cash.

Do I NEED a business account, or would setting up a personal checking account for the money I earn on the side be alright?
      I would not be using the bank account i have right now. I would be setting up a new personal checking account for recieving money online. Is there anything wrong with this?

Thankyou for any help you can give me.
        • Re: Freelance Artist, how to start business?
          MoveForward Scout
          Okay, some of what I am going to say you will not like and try to avoid but going on the right path from the get-go will only allow you to sleep better in years to come.

First, until you make 3,000 dollars in profit, it is considered a "hobby". After you must file for a business lic. and pay tax on your income. Also Sales Tax.