Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2010 11:36 PM by Play_to_Win

Internet Web Site owner

whundt1 Newbie
      Hi everyone
      Here is my question? I am a sub contractor with a company, and do my own advertising. I purchased a Domain Name in Jan. 2006. Putting a lot of work, time and money into it, it starts making me profit. Now since the main company notice that I am successful, they first want me to give them my site. Since I am the owner of the site, I believe it is my property, and I can do what ever I want to do with it?
      Any advise,
        • Re: Internet Web Site owner
          Lighthouse24 Ranger

There is not really a "cut-and-dried" answer to that. You may own the domain name, yet if the "main company" produces a product or provides a service that is associated with that name, or if that name is recognized as being the source of their products or services (not just in the virtual world, but on any hard copy documentation the company has), you and your business may be prohibited from using it in trade. If that's the case, your best course of action might be to figure up what you spent to establish the domain name and Internet visibility, and then offer to sell the domain to the company at your cost.

Selling a domain in that way is not an unusual transaction -- some people are actually in the business of establishing domain names for all kinds of things (cars, books, movies, etc.) before the producer/publisher has the chance, and then they offer to sell them when the producer/publisher discovers the name is already registered. Since your intent was to build a business, not squeeze the company for a few thousand bucks, they should be receptive to a reasonable offer to sell.
            I would consult with a lawyer. I would be prepared to answer questions such as

1. Did you build the site using their resources ie on their servers, database, etc. or on your own?, while you were on the clock or in your personal time at home?