Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2009 12:45 PM by bm911tax

Online business Tax Reporting Question

jcooper12 Wayfarer
      I have a two questions. I plan to have an online business selling silk flowers from my own home which I am currently renting.

1) If I am running an online business out of my home in florida and someone in ohio orders one of my products, I understand that they do not have to pay tax because it is another state and I would have an online business. However, off of that sale do I have to report tax from the sale to the state anyways or is no tax reported since they did not have to pay tax?

2) I am new to business. I understand that sales tax that is collected must be reported to the state, but is there any other kind of tax that I will have to pay. I know business owners do not like tax time this is why I ask. It seems that there is probably more than just the tax off the items you sell, something that I do not know about. Is there any other kind of tax that I will have to pay other than the tax collected on the items that I sell at the end of the year or quarterly?

Jason Cooper
        • Re: Online business Tax Reporting Question
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Online business Tax Reporting

Jason, Everybody ib business should have both an Accountant and a Lawyer.

I suggest you contact a Florida Accountant and ask him.

Good luck, LUCKIEST
          <!--Session data-->
            bm911tax Adventurer

In general Sales tax is collected from customers if you have a physical location in the same state as the customer. So if you have online business in FL and you sell something online to the resident of FL, you must collect sales tax, but if you sell something to NJ resident then you do not need to collect sales tax.

You need to be registered with the state to collect sales tax and submit the money with a monthly or quarterly sales tax return to the state.