Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2009 2:43 AM by GhostRider103

I've a good idea but i dont know where to begin first

alexmay38 Newbie

Hi everyone,

I would like to open up an online clothing store. I'm new at this business and I dont have a big budget. My questions are:

1. Should i buy the goods first then make the website? or the opposite?
      2. How much does a simple website cost?
      3. What kind of payment is prefered by the customers?

Thank you for all your help.
        • Re: I've a good idea but i dont know where to begin first
          chwmqq Wayfarer
          I think you can register c2c site.
            DomainDiva Ranger
            First you need to understand what a good specialty clothing / accessory online store looks like. I would suggest that you visit ebags.com, coldwatercreek.com and jjill.com to see some really good website and shopping nirvana. Ebags is my favorite.

Then decide what you are going to retail. Clothes? Women, men, children, steam punk, goth? Are you wanting to be a specialty store?

Accessories? Low...medium or high end?

Shoes? No that is way too much inventory and if you only carry certain sizes, people will get angry if you don't have their size and say ugly things about your site on the internet.

You will need someone to constantly maintain the website. My suggestion is to find an unemployed tekkie, make them a partner and go from there. One person cannot do it all. Website design and maintenance can be very expensive. Beware of offers to do things for free...you get what you pay for. Then you have to get people to your website.

Online retailing can be a very expensive proposition. First, do your homework as I suggested in the first paragraph. Do not be in a rush.
              SME_ally Adventurer
              Hello,
              To answer your questions, I would do:

1. build the site first then buy inventory