Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2008 1:09 PM by kevhan

Question on whether to hire or to form a partnership

Anadllc Newbie

I am new and love this site! I have this business idea for about 3 years now. It is an online business. My background is sales and marketing but I need a lot of things done on the computer side. That is the thing that has held me back. I am a firm believer in doing what you do best, and hire out for what you don't. I got to know someone that knows a lot about computers, that I hit it off with. I approached her with my idea and she is very interested. I told her that it will be a lot of work and she is alright with that. We were going to do a 50/50 partnership to save on costs to hire out. Now I am questioning whether this is a good idea. She is accepting a full time postition with a large company and says she can do both. I do have a bit of a problem with this, because I will be working my *** off doing everything BUT the computer side. What if things don't get done in a timely manner on her side that holds us up? It is difficult to back down now, but here are some options that I can think of and would be interested in knowing if you have any ideas or thoughts. BTW I don't have a problem with a split because this is not about just building a website...

First, a partnership agreement would be written up with an exit strategy already in place and agreed on while we are on friendly terms. I will use my attorney so that it is a fair contract, but will protect me.

1) set up a 51%/49% partnership split so I will have more say.

2) Set up a pay scale where I will pay her for her work, and as the company grows, provide some way for her to work full time with a % (but less) of the business.

Thanks for your help and looking forward to what you have to say!
        • Re: Question on whether to hire or to form a partnership
          DomainDiva Ranger