Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2008 1:38 PM by designer

45 days until Christmas - - and I see Santa everywhere!

MetroGal Adventurer

What are your thoughts on the extra early Christmas promotions, sales, etc. this year? It's simply too early for me as a consumer! I already see Christmas trees popping! As a business owner, have you started promoting season cheer already or have plans to do so earlier this year because of the economy? Thanks for sharing.
        • Re: 45 days until Christmas - - and I see Santa everywhere!
          NatOnline Tracker
          My thoughts as a e-commerce owner about extra early Christmas promotions are perhaps positive. I think that gives customers more time to shop and benefit from the sales.

As a business owner I will start my holiday sale next week.
            LUCKIEST Guide
            There are TWO different schools of thought on holiday sales. And YES you are right.
            It's simply too early if you are a consumer. YET customers ARE buying NOW.
            If you are in business it is NEVER to early for any holiday, especially Xmas.
            If businesses do not plan for early sales, they will loss out.
            Humbug, LUCKIEST
              Lighthouse24 Ranger
              As a consumer, I agree with you. Making the Christmas season two months long seems to take away a little of the "magic" -- not the meaning, but some of the childlike excitement and anticipation gets "diluted."

For my retail clients, an increasingly larger percentage of sales over the past ten years has been in the 4th quarter. It's a "chicken and egg" thing as to whether the holiday promotions start earlier each year because it's a growing percentage of their sales, or if it's a growing percentage of their sales because they holiday promotions start earlier.