Post a new topic
    14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2009 11:10 AM by CHINTU

Optical Shop Business

drsenthil23 Newbie
      Haai , I am basically an Ophthalmologist and Laser Surgeon. I have seen that sometimes Optical Shops make more money than Ophthalmologists and they can be of a more entrepreneurial venture.

I have plans to start my first small Optical Shop in Chennai India. The interior work is allmost over. I would like this shop to be succesful and open more outlets and become a chain shop soon.

Awareness on eye care is low in india.

So I welcome ideas on how to make my new venture succesful.

Thanks in advance.

More about me on my website http://www.pranaveyecare.com
        • Re: Optical Shop Business
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Congratulations. You have great credentials being an Ophthalmologist and Laser Surgeon.
          Having never been to India, the plan to start with one shop successfully and open more outlets sounds great.
          Develope a BUSINESS and MARKETING PLAN?? Do you have the FUNDS??
          Will you have an Accountant?? A Lawyer?? on your team.
          Best of luck, LUCKIEST
            Mozart Wayfarer
            Welcome to the community! I'm not familar with the healthcare system in India - so I apologize if this is a basic question. Is your optical shop set up to receive insurance? Or is it set up as cash-only? In the U.S. optical shops receive both types of payments. Often optical shops will advertise that they accept certain insurance companies and also get on the insurance companies website for promotion.

There is an optical company that is participating on this site. This is there success story on their optical store (Roman Eyes located in the U.S.), check it out:
            When customers can't come to you...go to them!.