This discussion is locked
Post a new topic
12 Replies Latest reply: Jun 8, 2009 3:07 PM by bizmarkpro RSS

I want to start my home made dessert business.

albairis Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I need advice on what to do to start a home made dessert business. I already have the product to sell. I need to know about permits, how to start from low and how to advertise.

This is my first time, I am single mom and I cannot find a job but sure know how to make good desserts.

Thank you for your answers

Alba
  • Re: I want to start my home made dessert business.
    LUCKIEST Master
    The best advice I can give is to visit a SCORE office and talk to a SCORE counselor about starting a business.
    SCORE is located all over the United States, it is FREE and confidential.
    The second best advice is to go on line to SCORE at "www.score.org" They have a Virtual Learning Center
    where you can take 26 FREE on line courses including MARKETING and ADVERTISING.
    Do you have an Accountant?? Take pictures of your desserts, it is great advertising.
    Good luck, LUCKIEST
    DeniseMM Newbie
    I always see referrals to SCORE on online networking sites - but I've known other people who've had their dreams dashed by SCORE counselors and they actually went on to have successful businesses. I'm one of them. smile So, SCORE is not "the end all be all." I got a person there as a "counselor" who spent his entire career in manufacturing of trucks - he totally didn't understand what I wanted to do with writing, speaking, mentoring and books. He was very discouraging - and I've had a successful home-based business for years now. By all mean avail yourself of what you can get there - but don't let them discourage you if they don't get it.