Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2009 12:09 AM by king1987

Not sure of which way to go

APTech Newbie
      First of all I want to say thanks for any and all help I get with this.

I am wanting to start a field service business.

I was recently laid off and the job market as we all know is not very good. I had been working for an OEM of CNC equipment for the past 5 years. I have built a great rapport with all of the customers I have visited. I was thinking about offering some of the same services to the same customers for a much discounted price. I will not have any inventory or a storefront. I will be operating from my home. So I will not have much for payout's. All my travel and expenses will be bill back to the customer wanting the service.

Now the questions that I have

1. I plan to offer my service nationwide. What would be the best way to go about this. LLC, Sole P or some other.
      2. Will I be able to collect unemployment during the slow times if I pay into it.
      3. How do I pay myself for either an LLC or a Sole P.
      4. I'm pretty sure I need a Fed ID. because I am gonig to need a business credit card.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Im not looking to get very big and I dont think I will be hiring anybody I would probably just do a 1099 contractor.
      Im just looking to make a living and work on my schedule.
      I know I need an accountant but once I get started I should be able to take care of everything myself.
        • Re: Not sure of which way to go
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Not sure of which way to go, Welcome

Good question. Go to SCORE. SCORE is FREE both in person and online. SCORE can NOT take the place of an Accountant, BUT can help answer many of your questions and get you started in the right direction.

Do you have a Business Name?? How about a Business Plan??

Good luck, LUCKIEST
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
              APTech Newbie