Post a new topic
    13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2009 8:17 AM by freelancer412

Music on Website

freelancer412 Wayfarer
      I'm new here and I'd like to ask a question. Maybe some people would be able to help me in this dilemma. I'm an author / book writer / graphic artist and I'm just intending to make the official website to myself, but what is more important, to my new book itself. My question is, is it a good idea to add an atmospheric, licensed! background music to the website (Think here for Immediate Music, X-Ray Dog or Two Steps from Hell like atmospheric music. So, calm orchestra, trailer like music which is a bit above the standard quality.). And in my plans, the loops or even the whole track would change menu by menu (Of course Turn off music would be guaranteed.). The musics are also able to discribe the whole book and able to give the appropriate epic atmosphere, so by my opinion the background music would help a bit to give something more to the reader. But that's just my idea and I can make mistakes too. Although until this time I never saw a webpage with music, so maybe it's not a good idea (Also the book webpages aren't that quality websites comparing to epic movie or gaming websites. And this one would be somewhere between the two.). Also, after the musics are relatively short, the streaming time or the webpage's opening time would not rise significantly.

Forwardly, thanks for your help.
        • Re: Music on Website
          Lighthouse24 Ranger
          The effectiveness probably depends on your target audience/readers. For instance, if it's a graphic novel for teens or young adults, the right music might really enhance the presentation. On the other hand, if it's a professional book for readers who might be accessing the site from their desks at work, then it may detract from the site's objective -- and therefore, from sales (a lot of people will simply exit the site rather than look for a way to turn off the music).