Post a new topic
    0 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2009 10:44 AM by cutcomp

Why Companies Should Be Careful About My Kind of Biz

cutcomp Wayfarer
      I thought this forum might be a good place to air one of my pet peeves--one that runs counter to the usual business lament about regulation. I want the government to regulate my line of work, but it doesn't (yet.) So I like to spread the word about why companies should be careful when considering a service like the one we provide.

We check over Workers Comp insurance premiums for employers, looking for premium overcharges that have occurred in current and past policies, and getting those overcharges back for our clients (usually but not always on a contingent fee arrangement.)

Now, I know that it's a genuinely valuable and valid service--I've been doing this kind of work personally for more than 25 years, and have had my own company specializing in this kind of work since 1987. I've recovered millions of dollars for clients large and small all across the U.S. And in the process, I've seen a number of competitors spring up (just do a Google search for Workers Compensation overcharges to see how many.)

The problem is that nobody regulates this line of work. Unlike the sale of insurance, where states insist that producers meet at least certain minimum standards of training and regulate their business practices, Workers Comp premium recovery work is the wild west--and it's attracted a few black hats.

I've been trying for years to get my home state of Illinois to license us (not successful so far, but now that Blago is gone I may be able to get some traction) and the department of insurance is in favor of it because they're also familiar with some of the problems caused by a few of my competitors.