Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2009 8:21 AM by phanio

Multi-Specialty Computer Retail Outlet

compumech Newbie
      Hi,

Over the last year I have been working diligently on trying to get my business established as a physical entity. I have been registered and in business since 2003, and I've been a part-time computer consultant since 1998. My goal has always been to open up a storefront, but I wish to go beyond just the retail aspect of this industry and focus on the consulting and online side as well.

I have a passion for what I do, and it's what drives me to push this project to completion. I currently perform consulting/installation/repair/ and other IT related services for businesses throughout the lower fairfield county area, both for myself and as a contractor for other companies. My immediate goal is to open up a storefront computer shop in downtown Danbury, CT.

Initially this endeavor started out quite ambitiously as a retail/gaming lounge/consulting and web-based services & retail outlet. But as the economy tightens up, so too did I tighten up the plan. Right now I see a good opportunity for the right computer store to thrive in the vacuum left by the decline of CompUSA and Circuit City. There are also plenty of outsourced services available to small IT shops that know exactly where to look, and I would be using these to my advantage.

This is just a small portion of what I have in mind. There are, of course, challenges.

I have a business plan in place, but it needs polishing, as this was literally pulled from the original, and much larger plan. I do not have much to offer, which is the first primary negative in my case. The only thing I can provide are the bulk of servers to host my network and the expertise to put most of what I need together, including a website I built myself. I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty.